Kogi: Wada Swears in Elected Council Chairmen

 Barely 24 hours after the local government elections were conducted on May 4 in Kogi State, Governor Idris Wada, has sworn in the elected 21 council chairmen, with a charge that they should shun corruption and abuse of office.

The governor, who gave the charge Monday while speaking at the swearing grassroots ceremony of the 21 council chairmen and their deputies, at Government House, Lokoja, stated that the election was an acknowledgement of the acceptability and leadership quality of the people of  their respected local government areas.

Wada, who expressed gratitude to the people of the state for the peaceful conduct of the elections, stressed that despite the evil plans and provocations by some politicians, who attempted to cause trouble and make the state ungovernable, the elections still went on transparently.

He commended the security agencies for the proactive measures adopted to ensure the peaceful conduct of the elections across the three senatorial districts of the state.

The governor pointed out that the 1999 Constitution recognised the local government administration as the third- tier of government, which was why the state government decided to put in place democratic setting at the grassroots level.

Wada warned all the council chairmen that the oath they have taken is between them and the people at the grassroots level, adding that the large portions of the rural dwellers were economically disadvantaged and urged the council chairmen to impact positively on the masses at the local level.

He also cautioned the chairmen not to be tempted to use their office to  tamper with public fund  to serve their personal interest, adding that they must  not use the advantage of their office to enrich themselves at the detriment of the rural dwellers.

Those sworn in, all PDP members, Monday are  Salihu Adaviriku (Adavi), Aloysius Adeiza Okino (Ajaokuta), Isah Abdul (Ankpa),  Usman  Maigida (Bassa), Mohammed Ali (Dekina), David Ogwu (Ibaji), Musa Abdulmutalib (Idah), Yemi Oguntola (Ijumu), Folorunsho Daniyan (Mopamuro) and Ibrahim Labaran (Kogi).

Others are Aliyu Usman (Lokoja), Funsho Ibrahim (Yagba East), Farouk Adejoh Audu (Olamaboro), Olafimihan Akerejola (Ogori/Magongo), Ahmed Ogembe (Okene), Alhassan O. Yusuf (Okehi), Labaran Yahaya  Ohigebe (Omola), A. Zakari (Ofu) and Edward Makanjula.

Responding on behalf of the council chairmen, Hon. David Ogwu, assured that they would not disappoint the state government, adding that they would key into the transformation agenda of the state government  to ensure equitable distribution of  dividends of democracy at grassroots level.